• Self Government - Proof
  • Self Government - Proof

Self Government - Proof

Sold Out

The third in a series of five coins commemorating Malta’s Constitutional History. This coin with the theme Self-government, 1921 is the third coin in the series of €2 commemorative coins highlighting milestones in Malta’s Constitutional History. Malta was granted a form of self-rule by the British government in 1921, in the aftermath of the First World War and the socio-economic hardship it left in its wake. Although Britain retained direct control over various key administrative functions, the new constitution granted Malta increased powers of self-government including an elected Cabinet of Ministers which for the first time became responsible for the administration of local affairs. The coin reverse shows the common €2 side while the obverse (national side) depicts a map of the Maltese islands and a representation of the Maltese population designed by the Maltese artist Ganni Bonnici. Actual sizes of coins may vary from pictures

Join our Mailing List

Sign up to receive our email updates

Search our store